Entries are now being accepted for the 2013 AAAS Kavli Science Journalism Awards.

The awards program, established in 1945, recognizes outstanding reporting for a general audience and honors individuals for coverage of the sciences, engineering, and mathematics. Stories on the environment, energy, and health qualify if they deal in a substantive way with underlying science. Independent committees of journalists select the winning entries.

The deadline for submissions is August 1, 2013. The contest year is July 1, 2012 to June 30, The contest is administered by the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS). Each category winner will receive $3,000, to be presented at the AAAS Annual Meeting in February 2014 in Chicago. Travel and lodging expenses are covered for one winner in each category.

U.S. awards -- Open to journalists working for U.S.-based media outlets:

- Large Newspaper (daily or weekly papers with circulation of 100,000 or more)
- Small Newspaper (daily or weekly papers with circulation of less than 100,000)
- Magazine
- TV: Spot News/Feature Reporting
- TV: In-Depth Reporting
- Radio
- Online

International award -- Open to journalists worldwide for work distributed via any medium:

- Children's Science News (reporting on science for children, including young teens up to age 14)