Masdar, Abu Dhabi's program to develop sustainable solutions to meet the world's future energy demand, has established an international awards program designed to recognize innovation and leadership in the global search for future energy solutions -- the Zayed Future Energy Prize.

The Zayed Future Energy Prize recognizes individuals, organizations, companies and NGOs who are advancing innovation in the field of clean energy and sustainable development. A jury of international experts chaired by Nobel Laureate Dr. R.K. Pachauri, chairman of the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change, will choose one winner and two finalists for the prize.

The winner and finalists of the first Zayed Future Energy Prize will be announced at the World Future Energy Summit on January 19th, 2009. The winner will receive US $1.5 million and two finalists will receive US $350,000 each to take their ideas and ambitions forward.

Submissions will close September 30, 2008.

Named in honor of the UAE's Founding Father, the late HH Sheikh Zayed bin Sultan Al Nahyan, the Zayed Future Energy Prize was launched in January 2008 at the inaugural World Future Energy Summit by HH General Sheikh Mohammed bin Zayed al Nahyan, Crown Prince of Abu Dhabi and Deputy Supreme Commander of the UAE Armed Forces.

For more info, go to