LONDON, December 1 /PRNewswire/ -- The Authors' Licensing Collecting Society (ALCS) and the Society of Authors today announced the shortlist for the 2009 Awards. The Award is made annually for an outstanding example of traditionally published non-fiction that enhances teaching and learning. The 2009 Award focuses on books for 5 - 11 year olds published in 2007 2008 and the shortlist includes:

- The Gooey, Chewy, Rumble Plop Book Steve Alton Nick Sharratt (Bodley Head) - How to Make Manga Characters Katy Coope (Collins Big Cat) - Chocolate - The Bean that Conquered the World Vivian French, ill. Paul Howard (Walker) - Tail-End Charlie Mick Manning Brita Granstrom (Frances Lincoln) - Archie's War - My Scrapbook of the First World War Marcia Williams (Walker)

Sixty-six books were entered this year - an excitingly diverse range of titles, many highly illustrated and with imaginative skills very much to the fore, says Paula Johnson of the Society of Authors. All three judges were looking for those books that had an added extra, taking an imaginative, stimulating approach to the chosen topic to fire curiosity and enjoyment in young readers.

ALCS and the Society of Authors created this award in 2008 to 'celebrate educational writing that encourages students to read widely and build up their understanding of a subject beyond the requirements of exam specifications'. This is the only UK award that focuses on educational non-fiction that enhances learning outside the essential curriculum. The award is designed to encourage the publication of educational books that both inspire learning and encourage creativity in young readers. To be eligible the work must be single volume, non-fiction (with or without illustration) of genuine merit for the specified age group. It must have been first published in the UK in the English Language within the two previous calendar years.

Educational writers represents 39% of the total number of writers we distribute money to at ALCS, says ALCS's deputy CEO, Barbara Hayes. Whilst we pay out to all types of writers, educational writers are the largest sector of the writing community amongst our membership. By sponsoring this award we aim to raise awareness of the value added by a creative approach to educational non-fiction and the contributions made by this group of writers.

The age range for the Award alternates each year, this year focussing on books for 5-11 year olds. Last year's winner Ian Gilbert, who received the award for 'The Little Book of Thunks' for the 12-18 age group, comments: This award meant a great deal to me - firstly as a public acknowledgement of the work I'm doing with children and their thinking, and secondly whilst the money was nice, the sense of confidence the award bestowed was the greater and I am much indebted for that.

The winner of the 2009 award will be announced at the All Party Writers Group (APWG) Christmas Reception at the House of Commons on 2nd December and a cheque for GBP2,000 will be presented by Janet Anderson MP, Chair of the APWG.

The 2009 judging panel included three educational experts: Ali Barne, a former teacher who currently works as a primary language coach to develop modern language teaching in the primary sector in Oxfordshire; Pamela Girdwood, full-time librarian at Blue Gate Fields Junior School, Tower Hamlets and Anthony Haynes, educational writer, director of the publishing and educational services firm Professional Higher Partnerships and visiting professor at the Beijing Normal and Hiroshima Universities.

Detailed information on the five books on this year's shortlist can be found on the attached sheet.

The forthcoming deadline for submission for the 2010 award for the 12-18 age group is 1st June 2010. For further details pleas see


Editors Notes

Society of Authors

The Society of Authors has been serving the interests of professional writers for more than a century. Today it has more than 8,800 members (from novelists to doctors, textbook writers to ghost writers, broadcasters to academics, illustrators to translators) writing in all areas of the profession. Services include the confidential, individual vetting of contracts, and help with professional disputes. In addition, the Society holds meetings and seminars, publishes a quarterly journal, The Author, and maintains a database of members' specializations. It administers a wide range of prizes, as well as the Authors' Foundation, which is one of the very few bodies making grants to help with work in progress for established writers.

2010 Educational Writers Award - please see for further information.


ALCS collects fees on behalf of the whole spectrum of UK writers: novelists, film TV script writers, literary prize winners, poets and playwrights, freelance journalists, translators and adaptors, as well as thousands of professional and academic writers who include nurses, lawyers, teachers, scientists, and college lecturers. All writers are eligible to join ALCS: further details on membership can be found at

The Society collects fees that are difficult, time-consuming or legally impossible for writers and their representatives to claim on an individual basis: money that is nonetheless due to them. Fees collected are distributed to writers twice a year in March and September. Since its inception, ALCS has distributed over GBP205 million to the nation's writers.

The All Party Parliamentary Writers Group (APWG)

APWG is a forum for elected Parliamentarians in Westminster to consider and discuss matters of importance to writers. As a focal point for authors' interests, with its links to UK writer organisations, APWG is well placed to draw attention to the current issues facing writers amongst an audience of decision-makers at Westminster and beyond.


CONTACT: For further information, author/illustrator interviews copiesof the shortlisted books please contact: (please do not publish thesenumbers). Becca Wyatt: +44-(0)1798-867-117; +44-(0)7801-061-420, ALCS,Alison Baxter: +44-(0)20-7264-5700. Society of Authors, Paula Johnson:+44-(0)20-7373-6642 ( Society of Authors:For further information contact Contactinformation: ALCS, The Writers House, 13 Haydon Street, London EC3N 1DB Tel: +44-(0)20-7264 5700; email Website: