The Breakthrough Prize has opened nominations period for its 2016 prizes in Fundamental Physics, Life Sciences and Mathematics until May 31st, 2015.

The Breakthrough Prizes will recognize top scientists as well as promising junior researchers. The big prizes are  $3 million while the junior researchers prizes are $100,000.

The Breakthrough Prize in Fundamental Physics recognizes individuals who have made profound contributions to human knowledge and is open to experimental, theoretical and mathematical work. The Selection Committee for the 2016 Breakthrough Prize in Fundamental Physics includes: Nima Arkani-Hamed, Lyn Evans, Fabiola Gianotti, Michael B. Green, Alan Guth, Stephen Hawking, Joseph Incandela, Alexei Kitaev, Maxim Kontsevich, Andrei Linde, Juan Maldacena, Saul Perlmutter, Alexander Polyakov, Adam Riess, John H. Schwarz, Nathan Seiberg, Ashoke Sen and Edward Witten.

Breakthrough Prizes in Life Sciences are awarded to individuals who made advances in understanding living systems and extending human life. Each year, one prize in this category will be earmarked for work contributing to the understanding of Parkinson’s&Neurodegenerative Disorders. The Selection Committee for the 2016 Breakthrough Prize in Life Sciences includes C. David Allis, James P. Allison, Victor Ambros, Cornelia I. Bargmann, Alim Louis Benabid, David Botstein, Lewis C. Cantley, Emmanuelle Charpentier, Hans Clevers, Titia de Lange, Mahlon R. DeLong, Jennifer A. Doudna, Napoleone Ferrara, Michael N. Hall, Eric S. Lander, Robert Langer, Richard P. Lifton, Gary Ruvkun, Charles L. Sawyers, Alexander Varshavsky, Bert Vogelstein, Robert A. Weinberg and Shinya Yamanaka.

The Breakthrough Prize in Mathematics is given each year to an individual in the field of mathematics. The Selection Committee for the 2016 Breakthrough Prize in Mathematics includes: Simon Donaldson, Maxim Kontsevich, Jacob Lurie, Terence Tao and Richard Taylor.

Self-nominations are prohibited but otherwise anyone can make a nomination. The nomination form and the rules are available at