The $100 billion per year organic food industry and their $2 billion political allies in environmentalism have created an either/or world of food for their customers. Either you embrace older food processes (oddly, up to and including mutagenesis and pesticides like copper sulfate) or you are ruining the planet.

The science community knows the opposite is true, but in a world of emotion facts don't sell very well. To try and bridge the gap, a new webinar with Dirk B. Hays, Ph.D., Texas A&M University, Manabu Ishitani, Ph.D., International Center for Tropical Agriculture (CIAT) Cali, Colombia, and Takashi Togami, Ph.D., PS Solutions Corp., Tokyo, seeks to show how modern technology, including the rather hyped Internet of Things, reduces water use and emissions while maintaining a stable, affordable food supply.

Using rice production as a model, they hope to show how to reduce environmental strain by applying scientific expertise and new technologies and provide real-world application and performance of some techniques currently in use.

Date: Wednesday, May 23, 2018
Time: 12 noon Eastern, 9 a.m. Pacific, 5 p.m. UK, 6 p.m. Central Europe
Duration: 1 hour

Register here.